Twenty-three high school seniors in the Class of 2019 have been selected to receive “I Am UNITE” scholarships totaling $34,500 for being champions for anti-drug efforts in their schools and communities.

“These scholarships honor youth – whom we call UNITE Ambassadors – who have excelled not only this year, but throughout much of their undergraduate careers, by being champions for anti-drug efforts within their schools and communities,” said Nancy Hale, UNITE President/CEO. “Recipients have provided peer mentorship, leadership, and community service; they serve as an inspiration to others. They are making a difference as a Voice of Hope.”

“UNITE believes Education is the best way to prevent the use of drugs – including alcohol, tobacco and marijuana – particularly among our youth,” Hale stated. “Education also saves lives. Each day, four Kentuckians will be among the 192 lives lost across our nation due to substance use or misuse. These scholarships celebrate those students who stand as examples for others.”

Each scholarship is worth $1,500 toward post-secondary education expenses. Funding for the scholarships comes from private donations to Operation UNITE.

The “I Am UNITE” Scholarship program was established in May 2013.

To date, Operation UNITE has provided scholarships to 157 students.

2019 “I Am UNITE” scholarship recipients

  • Emily Adkins, Pike Central High School (Pike County)
  • Rhileigh Alred, Harlan County High School (Harlan County)
  • Cali Asher, Harlan County High School (Harlan County)
  • Sarah Bingham, Pineville Independent School (Bell County)
  • Courtney Brooks, Wolfe County High School (Wolfe County)
  • Zoe Burdette, Rockcastle County High School (Rockcastle County)
  • Erika “Nikki” Creech, Harlan County High School (Harlan County)
  • Macey Dye, Somerset High School (Pulaski County)
  • Kaisen Eastep, Magoffin County High School (Magoffin County)
  • Joshua Hall, Prestonsburg High School (Floyd County)
  • Hannah Jacobs, Lincoln County High School (Lincoln County)
  • Bailey Lovern, Pikeville High School (Pike County)
  • Summer Marcum, Pike County Central High School (Pike County)
  • Mikia McCoy, Johnson Central High School (Johnson County)
  • Kristi Mullins, East Ridge High School (Pike County)
  • Jordan Nicely, Rockcastle County High School (Rockcastle County)
  • Ethan Phipps, Barbourville High School (Knox County)
  • Alyssa Rose, Jenkins High School (Letcher County)
  • Autumn Simpson, Bell County High School (Bell County)
  • John Stafford, Sheldon Clark High School (Martin County)
  • Kennedy Stallard, Pike County Central High School (Pike County)
  • Katherine Turner, Somerset Christian School (Pulaski County)
  • Jordan Whittaker, Rowan County High School (Rowan County)