Johnson County Operation UNITE Coalition


Coalition Meetings

Noon on the first Monday of every month, Paintsville Recreation Center, 232 Preston Street, Paintsville.

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 596, Paintsville, KY 41240

UNITE Coalition Coordinator

Tonia, 606-889-0422 (w), 606-422-3837 (cell)

Coalition Officers


Johnson County News

KSP to pilot ‘The Angel Initiative’

PIKEVILLE – It’s not about getting soft on crime. It’s about getting smart about dealing with the substance abuse problems facing southern and eastern Kentucky. That message, from Kentucky State Police Commissioner Rick Sanders, was stressed several times during a forum in Pikeville March 9 to discuss implementation of a pilot program – The Angel Initiative – designed to help those in...

Read More

FDA commissioner holds listening session

PIKEVILLE – Dr. Robert Califf, commissioner of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), heard concerns and comments about the growing prescription opioid epidemic during a visit to southeastern Kentucky August 18, 2016. “It’s obvious that this is a crushing epidemic … and you are in the epicenter,” Califf said during a stop at Pikeville Medical center as part of...

Read More

Scholarship deadline extended

LONDON – Operation UNITE has extended the deadline for seniors to apply for “I Am UNITE” scholarships to Friday, April 8. “The initial deadline was March 31, but with the number of school closings due to weather and sickness we wanted to make sure students had an opportunity to submit an application,” explained Debbie L. Trusty, UNITE’s Education and Treatment Director. Application...

Read More

Support UNITE on #GivingTuesday

Operation UNITE is one of hundreds of nonprofit organizations across Kentucky participating in the third annual Kentucky Gives online fundraising event on Tuesday, December 1. UNITE’s focus for this year’s Kentucky Gives event is to raise funds for youth prevention and education initiatives – specifically Camp UNITE, school anti-drug UNITE Clubs, and the “On The Move!” mobile education...

Read More

Club of the Year winners named

Seven anti-drug school UNITE Clubs across the Fifth Congressional District have been named “Clubs of the Year” for their outstanding efforts and accomplishments during the 2014-15 school year. The winning clubs are: Belfry High School (Pike County) Cold Hill Elementary School (Laurel County) Hayes Lewis Elementary School (Leslie County) Meade Memorial Elementary School (Johnson...

Read More

Click here for more localized news