Med Drop Box Sites

To make it easier for citizens to dispose of their expired or unwanted medications – both prescription and over-the-counter – medication drop boxes are available throughout the UNITE service region in conjunction with police agencies and local governments.

DSC_0005-dropbox-sidecutThese collection sites are available to citizens during regular operating hours of the host agencies. Since October 1, 2012, UNITE has collected 27,317.7 pounds (more than 13.65 tons) of medications from these drop boxes (updated 11-5-18).

Please remove all identifying labels from prescription pill bottles. Liquid medications, illicit drugs, and items with a needle are not accepted at these locations.

DEA Take-Back Days

The U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration has conducted 16 national prescription drug take-back days in partnership with Operation UNITE, the Kentucky State Police, and other agencies through October 2018. Since 2010, the DEA and its state, local, and tribal law-enforcement and community partners have removed 9,964,714 pounds (more than 4,982 tons) of prescription medications from circulation (October 2018 statistics not yet available).

During the last DEA Take-Back Day, held Saturday, October 27, 2018, UNITE turned in 3,700 pounds (1.85 tons) of medication. The next National Take-Back Day to be held from 10 am to 2 pm on April 27, 2019. Learn more at 1-800-882-9539 or visit the DEA Take-Back Day website.

instruction sign-web

Permanent Drop Box Locations

There are 41 medication drop boxes in or adjacent to Operation UNITE’s service area. For a listing of additional prescription drug collection locations in Kentucky visit the Kentucky Office of Drug Control Policy website.

County Box location(s)

Bath Owingsville Police Department

Bell Middlesboro Police Department
Pineville Police Department

Boyd Boyd County Sheriff’s Office, Catlettsburg

Breathitt Jackson Police Department

Carter Carter County Sheriff’s Office, Grayson

Clay Manchester Police Department

Elliott Elliott County Sheriff’s Office, Sandy Hook

Floyd Prestonsburg Police Department

Harlan Harlan Police Department

Jackson Jackson County Police Department, McKee

Johnson Johnson County Sheriff’s Office, Paintsville
Paintsville Police Department

Knott Knott County Sheriff’s Office, Hindman

Knox Knox County Sheriff’s Office, Barbourville

Laurel Laurel County Sheriff’s Office
London Police Department

Lawrence Lawrence County Sheriff’s Office, Louisa

Lee Beattyville Police Department

Leslie Leslie County Sheriff’s Office, Hyden

Letcher Jenkins Police Department
Letcher County Sheriff’s Office, Whitesburg

Lincoln Lincoln County Sheriff’s Office

Magoffin Magoffin County Sheriff’s Office, Salyersville

Martin Martin County Sheriff’s Office, Inez

McCreary McCreary County Sheriff’s Office, Whitley City

Menifee Menifee County Sheriff’s Office, Frenchburg

Morgan West Liberty Police Department

Owsley Owsley County Sheriff’s Office, Booneville

Perry Hazard Police Department

Pike Pikeville Police Department

Powell Clay City Municipal Building
Powell County Courthouse

Pulaski Pulaski County 911 Center, Somerset
Pulaski County Sheriff’s Office, Somerset

Rockcastle Mount Vernon City Hall

Rowan Rowan County Sheriff’s Office, Morehead

Wayne Monticello Police Department

Whitley Williamsburg Police Department at City Hall
Corbin City Police Department

Wolfe Wolfe County Sheriff’s Office, Campton

For a list of all permanent drop box locations across the state visit the Kentucky Office of Drug Control Policy website.