Twenty-three high school seniors have been selected to receive 2014 “I Am UNITE” scholarships for being champions for anti-drug efforts.

Each scholarship is worth $1,500 toward post-secondary expenses. Funding for the scholarships comes from proceeds of the National Rx Drug Abuse & Heroin Summit – the largest annual collaboration of professionals and advocates in the United States focused on the prescription opiate epidemic – which Operation UNITE has hosted for the past five years.

“These scholarships honor youth who have excelled – not only this year, but throughout much of their undergraduate careers – by being champions for anti-drug efforts within their schools and communities,” said Nancy Hale, UNITE President/CEO. “Recipients have provided peer mentorship, leadership and community service, and serve as an inspiration to others. They are true ‘UNITE Ambassadors’.”

Receiving 2014 “I Am UNITE” Scholarships are:

  • Timothy D. Baker, Buckhorn High
  • Maulyia G. Baker, Owsley County High
  • Sydni N. Bogar, Belfry High
  • Haleigh B. Bowling, Shelby Valley High
  • Kaitlynn E. Clark, Leslie County High
  • Corey B. Crisologo, Whitley County High
  • Darrian R. Davidson, Jackson Independent
  • Matthew J. Douglas, Whitley County High
  • Rebecca L. Dunmore, Somerset Christian School
  • Nicholas T. Early, Harlan County High
  • James T. Faulkner, Whitley County High
  • Brianna A. Feltner, Leslie County High
  • Caroline T. Herald, Jackson Independent
  • Morgan L. Jarrell, Shelby Valley High
  • Emily N. Jenkins, Morgan County High
  • Alisha M. Kersey, Corbin High
  • Matthew McCary, Betsy Layne High
  • Kaitlyn “Katie” R. Mitchell, Lighthouse Academy
  • Tanner M. Sammons, Pike County Central High
  • Harry R. Steele, Morgan County High
  • McKinzii S. Todd, Rockcastle County High
  • Brooklyn M. Tolson, Wolfe County High
  • Halley C. Wilson, Morgan County High

The “I Am UNITE” Scholarship program was established by the UNITE Foundation in May 2013. To date, the UNITE Foundation has provided scholarships to 42 students.