Twenty high school seniors in the Class of 2020 have been selected to receive “I Am UNITE” scholarships totaling $30,000 for being champions for anti-drug efforts in their schools and communities.

“These scholarships honor youth – whom we call UNITE Ambassadors – who have excelled not only this year, but throughout much of their undergraduate careers, by being champions for anti-drug efforts within their schools and communities,” said Nancy Hale, UNITE President/CEO. “Recipients have provided peer mentorship, leadership, and community service; they serve as an inspiration to others. They are making a difference as a Voice of Hope.”

“UNITE believes Education is the best way to prevent the use of drugs – including alcohol, tobacco and marijuana – particularly among our youth,” Hale stated. “Education also saves lives. These scholarships celebrate those students who stand as examples for others.”

Each scholarship is worth $1,500 toward post-secondary education expenses. Funding for the scholarships comes from private donations to Operation UNITE.

The “I Am UNITE” Scholarship program was established in May 2013.

To date, Operation UNITE has provided scholarships to 177 students.

2020 “I Am UNITE” scholarship recipients

  • Hannah Booth, Wolfe County High School (Wolfe County)
  • Kelsi Brinager, Pike Central High School (Pike County)
  • Destiny Clark, Harlan County High School (Harlan County)
  • Shelby Cline, Shelby Valley High School (Pike County)
  • Mason Compton, Prestonsburg High School (Floyd County)
  • Dixie Ewing, Harlan County High School (Harlan County)
  • Kylee Fain, Rockcastle County High School (Rockcastle County)
  • Ashton Farmer, Clay County High School (Clay County)
  • Kelsey Gray, Bell County High School (Bell County)
  • Promise Gregory, Corbin High School (Whitley County)
  • Maicee Harless, Martin County High School (Martin County)
  • Kaitlyn Hilton, Rowan County High School (Rowan County)
  • Caitlyn Hollon, Wolfe County High School (Wolfe County)
  • Madison Middleton, Harlan Independent High School (Harlan County)
  • Dylan Powell, Wayne County High School (Wayne County)
  • Sophie Ratliff, Shelby Valley High School (Pike County)
  • Andreya Smith, Breathitt County High School (Breathitt County)
  • Madilynn “Madi” Smoot, Jackson Independent (Breathitt County)
  • Jalynn Thornsberry, Knott County Central High School (Knott County)
  • Metztli “Meki” Torak, McCreary Central High School (McCreary County)