Twenty-four high school seniors in the Class of 2023 have been selected to receive “I Am UNITE” scholarships totaling $36,000 for being champions for anti-drug prevention efforts in their schools and communities.

“These scholarships honor youth – whom we call UNITE Ambassadors – who have excelled not only this year, but throughout much of their undergraduate careers, by being champions for anti-drug efforts within their schools and communities,” said Nancy Hale, UNITE President/CEO. “Recipients have provided peer mentorship, leadership, and community service; they serve as an inspiration to others. They are making a difference as a Voice of Hope.”

“UNITE believes Education is the best way to prevent the use of drugs – including alcohol, tobacco and marijuana – particularly among our youth,” Hale stated. “Education also saves lives. These scholarships celebrate those students who stand as examples for others.”

Each scholarship is worth $1,500 toward post-secondary education expenses. Funding for the scholarships comes entirely through private donations to Operation UNITE.

The “I Am UNITE” Scholarship program was established in May 2013.

To date, Operation UNITE has provided scholarships to 243 students.

2023 “I Am UNITE” Scholarship Recipients

  • Lynsey Anderson, Jenkins High
  • Connor Blevins, Harlan County High
  • Matthew Buckle, Leslie County High
  • Mallory Caldwell, Pikeville High
  • Madison Canter, Jenkins High
  • Liberty Fallen, Wolfe County High
  • Kennedy Harvel, Floyd Central High
  • Evan Hylton, Perry Central High
  • Delaney Johnson, Jenkins High
  • Kaden Kidwell, Rockcastle County High
  • Max Martin, Floyd Central High
  • Jacob Massey, Clay County High
  • Weslyn McIntosh, Lee County High
  • Emma Napier, Leslie County High
  • Taylor Payne, Knox Central High
  • Kallie Powell, Wayne County High
  • Chloe Ralston, Lincoln County High
  • Jordan Ratliff, Shelby Valley High
  • Emma Robinson, Shelby Valley High
  • Kennedy Stamper, Lincoln County High
  • Margaret “Maggie” Strickland, Whitley County High
  • Emily Sturgill, Rockcastle County High
  • Adeline Turner, Jackson Independent High
  • Haley Walls, Somerset Christian School